Skip to content

When Your Kids (Or Boss) Finds Your Blog

August 10, 2012

Dear Dear People who stumble onto this blog and happen to read whatever is rummaging around in my brain, if you’re a regular then apologies for my absence. And if you’re not, then welcome! (And don’t pay attention to the sporadic-ness of my writing lately!)

Remember that terrified post-grad I was a month-ish ago? Well, I’ve managed to temporarily secure a temp-job until November. Woo! I’d like to tell you that it was because of simple perseverance and resume sending instead of that annoying “it’s all about who you know” answer. But it came down to who I knew that landed me the position. I wish I could offer more advice to help anyone who is currently struggling to find a job but I don’t.

In any case, I’ve been thinking lately about what will happen when we all grow up. Sometimes when I step online into what feels like a web-based feminist universe, I giggle wondering what will happen when all of these amazing individuals so honestly writing about their lives and their ideas have kids who grow up and read what they’ve shared so openly.

Much of this curiosity stems from my desire to know what my parents would have written if they had been more inclined to write. And still sometimes, if I’m having a particularly rough day I’ll come home and pick up a tried and true feminist writing and read a chuck out loud to myself as a sort of comfort. I’ve always been disheartened by the fact that my mom wasn’t as engaged in feminism as I am and have had good laughs at myself when I look back over at some of the crazy things I’ve written online, where anyone can find it.

I assume any baby with a computer makes this face. But if reading this blog? Who knows if it’s the computer or the content.

All this got me thinking about how these kids will feel when they find their parent’s writing. Will it bring them closer? Will it make the parent/child relationship turn into a more convoluted but rewarding parent-friend/child-friend relationship?  How does the way that we interact with people’s lives and writing online change how we interact with them in the real world.

Twice in my life when having a conversation with someone i have sent them links to pieces I’ve written and had the experience of them not reading the byline and when bringing the piece up, referencing to me as “the author” instead of knowing it was me who write it. It’s the oddest sensation. As if someone is grabbing a piece of me, peeling it off and putting it in a nondescript box. But it’s also quite entertaining because for a brief moment, it lets me see what this person thinks of me, without me. Of course, when I let them in on the not-so-secret secret that I had written the piece I’m reminded with a swift moment of awkwardness between us that I share more online sometimes than I do in the real world.

So what will my kids (if I have any) think of all the things I’ve written, what do my friends, bosses, and colleagues think of them now (and how does it or doesn’t it change how they interact with me), and will these potential kids even read this stuff? Honestly? If my mom had written stuff online I’d eat it up like candy. But all of this could also seem so passe to a kid (or anyone for that matter) in a few years.

In the end, seeing how families, friends, coworkers and people mitigate their offline relationships with their online knowledge is probably one of the things that keeps me up wondering about the complexity of human interaction at night. Ah, the illustrious late hours of being an anthropologist.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. aarondelwiche permalink
    August 10, 2012 12:21 pm

    Can’t you just tell your kids or other family members that “this was the blog your mother wrote during her gap years before she went back to graduate school?”

    It might be awkward, but I don’t think you’ll ever need to apologize or feel bad about the material contained in your public blogs. You are living authentically in the public sphere. A good example to set for your kids.

  2. August 10, 2012 3:29 pm

    Is this a not so subtle hint that I should go to grad school? And thank you! Truth be told, I look forward to these potential conversations, they should be quite entertaining.

Leave a Reply

