Skip to content

Kitchen Chronicles: Calling Me Baby

June 18, 2012

Dear readers! As per some good advice, I’ve started a new blog to track some of the multitude of things heard in the kitchen over here at The Kitchen Chronicle. There was just too much material to weigh down FeminisTech with. But I’ll still be crossposting one elongated Kitchen Chronicle here every week. Enjoy!

Kitchen Chronicle #6

“You got it?”
“Sure you can handle that?”
“You got it? 

Let’s get one thing straight, I’m not against people being helpful. In fact I love it. If I’m in the weeds, you get major “I’ll roll silverware for you later” points in my book if you deliver some drinks to a table for me.

BUT, when I’m in the middle of running stacks of plates to and from the dishwasher, it’s sort of weird for you to ask me not once, but twice, if I can handle the job I am already performing. I am literally carrying the plates as you ask me this. I very obviously have “got it”.

I have a love/hate relationship with Jezebel but this sentiment was explained quite well in this recent article of theirs: “That Condescending Feeling You Get From Dudes in the Office? Yeah, That’s Real.”

It wouldn’t be so difficult to stomach all of this helpfulness if there wasn’t a “baby”, a *wink*, or a back scratch/rub added to the end of the questions. I have a strong aversion to pet names and grimace inwardly when customers call me sweety or darlin’. I am not your baby, sweety, darlin’, etc. So please don’t call me that. In fact, I don’t even know you that well. And when the word “baby” is so often used in the kitchen to remind me of my female status and my inability to carry heavy things at times, I come to resent it even more.

Complaining without giving a practical solution is a big feminist no-no, so here it is: ask me once if I need help. And without the pet name please. And I’ll give you an honest answer. Though sometimes I’m so set on proving myself to be just as, if not more so, capable as everyone else I might lie and tell you no. But I’ll still get the job done alone. I promise. I can do things.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

